HSF Staff

Karel | Feb 26, 2018

Francis Antonie

Director

Francis Antonie is a graduate of Wits University, Leicester and Exeter Universities. He was awarded the Helen Suzman Chevening Fellowship by the UK foreign Office in 1994. From 1996 to 2006 he was Senior Economist at Standard Bank; thereafter he was Director of the Wits School of Governance at Wits University. He is the founding Managing Director of Strauss & Co.

francis@hsf.org.za


Rob Hewitt

General Manager

Rob Hewitt is a Chartered Accountant and joined the Helen Suzman Foundation after retirement having held senior Financial Management positions in the Barlows Group, Foster Wheeler and Independent Newspapers.

rob@hsf.org.za


Roshan Arnold

Office Administrator

Roshan Arnold has worked at various educational institutions in Administration roles. For the past 11 and a half years she was the Personnel Administrator at the Wits School of Governance at Wits University.

roshan@hsf.org.za


Charles Simkins

Senior Researcher

Charles Simkins is a distinguished Economist. He was Vice President and Professor of Economics at St Augustine College and formerly held the Helen Suzman Chair of Political Economy at Wits University. He is a former Rhodes Scholar and is a recipient of the Helen Suzman Chevening Fellowship, a UK Foreign Office award.

charles@hsf.org.za


Anton van Dalsen

Counsellor

Anton van Dalsen has extensive experience in the funding of the resources sector in South Africa and elsewhere in Africa, including 20 years at Investec Bank in this field.  After graduating with a BA (University of Pretoria) and a LLB (University of Stellenbosch), his initial work experience was in law and the Department of Foreign Affairs.

anton@hsf.org.za


Catherine Kruyer

Legal Researcher

Catherine has a BSocSci degree (majoring in Law and Philosophy) and an LLB degree from the University of Cape Town. She completed pupillage at the Cape Bar and is an admitted advocate of the High Court of South Africa. Her experience includes time as a Law Clerk at the Supreme Court of Malawi and the Constitutional Court of South Africa.

catherine@hsf.org.za


Chelsea Ramsden

Legal Researcher

Chelsea has secured a LLB and LLM (Public International Law) at the University of Johannesburg. She recently returned from Dublin where she completed a LLM (International Human Rights Law) at University College Dublin as a Global Excellence Scholar. Chelsea’s work experience includes time as a law clerk at the Johannesburg High Court as well as the Constitutional Court of South Africa.

chelsea@hsf.org.za


Christopher Fisher

Legal Researcher

Christopher completed his master’s degree in philosophy at the University of the Witwatersrand, and lectured philosophy at various Gauteng universities. He then completed an LLB at the University of Cape Town, and his articles of clerkship at ENSafrica in their competition law department.

christopher@hsf.org.za


Sophie Smit

Researcher

Sophie Smit is a graduate of Wits University with a BA (Law), LLB and LLM (human rights, advocacy and litigation). She is currently completing a one year internship program at the Helen Suzman Foundation.

sophie@hsf.org.za


Zeenat Emmamally

Researcher

Zeenat holds a BA degree (majoring in Law, English, and Psychology) and LLB degree at the University of the Witwatersrand, both with distinction. She was one of the top 5 law graduates at Wits in 2019, and received the subject awards for Social Justice and Human Rights, Environmental Law, and Practical Legal Studies. In 2020, she pursued her LLM (Human Rights Advocacy and Litigation) at Wits.

zeenat@hsf.org.za


Mihloti Sherinda

Researcher

True justice is in community participation. My name is Mihloti Basil Sherinda and I hold an LLB, PDM and LLM (in Human Rights Advocacy and Litigation) at the University of the Witwatersrand. I have joined the Helen Suzman Foundation as a Legal Research Intern to further the true values of a constitutional democracy as they form part of my career aspirations.

mihloti@hsf.org.za